Couples’ Dilemma to Break-up or Stay

Relationships and time

Anne Chisom
1 min readOct 13, 2021

I left when I shouldn’t have
We’d been arguing for months
We started accusing each other
Of the usual worn-out couples’ sins

Finally the night came when
One of us was bound to say “Enough!”
In this case it was me who
Decided to give up and call it quits.

I left, needing time and space away
Then time to wonder if I felt regret
Time to live through the three o’clock
In the morning wide-awake lonesome blues.

Did he miss me too, regret our moves,
Did he wish that night he had spoken,
Asked me to stay and not walk away?
It’s too late now, our connection is broken.

I don’t think I need to add many remarks to this poem that came to me after talking with friends about our relationship histories. Some friends have enviable marriages or other relationships that are now decades long.

Others of us have found when talking about short or at least shorter relationships that many break-ups follow patterns that we only recognize as we get older.

No judgments here, simply observations. Is it true we get the lives we wanted, even if we didn’t realize it when we were younger?

--

--

Anne Chisom

Writing on whatever strikes my mood, from politics to humor (or a combination of the two), to spirituality, or whatever else shows up. Retired, not in retreat.